Zipp News

Back 7.22.2009

202s Make Five!

Frank Schleck (LUX) won today's Stage 17 of the Tour de France on Zipp 202s.  Alberto Contador (SPA) finished in second and Andy Schleck (LUX), also on Zipp 202s, finished 3rd. All three racers ride SRAM Red components.

2009 Tour de France overall - after stage 17
1 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Astana 72:27:09
2 Andy Schleck (Lux) Team Saxo Bank 0:02:26
3 Fränk Schleck (Lux) Team Saxo Bank 0:03:25

Cervelo Test Team's Thor Hushovd helped to secure his hold on the green sprinter's jersey by breaking away from the field and securing additional points toward the sprinter's title.

Today's win brought the Zipp total to 5 official stage wins for the tour.  Virtually every wheel in the Zipp line-up has crossed the line first at this year's race including the Sub-9, 808, 404, 303 and now the 202.

Photo: (C) Tim De Waele