Zipp News

Back 10.12.2009

The Sun Sets on Kona

Zipp sponsored athletes grabbed 4 of the top 5 women's spots and 3 of the top 5 men's spots in Kona. 

Mirinda Carfrae (AUS), Virginia Berasategui (SPA), Tereza Macel (CAN) and Sam McGlone (CAN) all rode Zipp wheels to capture positions 2 through 5 on the women's podium.  Virginia's bike was also equipped with SRAM RED.

Craig Alexander (AUS) bested Chris Lieto (USA) to grab the first two spots on the men's podium.  Zipp athletes Andreas Raelert (DEU), Chris McCormack (AUS) and Rassmus Henning (DNK) finished 3rd through 5th respectively.  Lieto, Raelert, McCormack, and Henning were all riding SRAM RED with Lieto opting for SRAMs 1090 R2C shifter.

In Friday's bike specification count, Zipp ruled the day, with 1936 Zipp Wheels rolling into the bike check.  Zipp accounted for over 60% of the aerodynamic race wheels in Kona.

Throughout the week we had the opportunity to speak with many of our Zipp sponsored athletes.  Click here to watch the video interviews and here to see photos from the week in Kona.