Zipp News

Back 11.18.2009

Vote Zipp 303 Best New Product in 2009

The 2009 Cyclingnews Readers Poll is now live on   

The all new Zipp 303 has been nominated as one of the Best New Products of 2009.

The sub-1200g wheelset with a fully toroidal 27.5mm rim debuted in the spring classics, grabbing victories at Omloop Het Volk under Thor Hushovd as well as a second place finish at Flanders (Heinrich Haussler) and third at Paris-Roubaix (Thor Hushovd).  While designed with the rough roads and aero needs of the classics in mind the Zipp 303 proved itself grand tour worthy, grabbing mountain stage wins at both the Tour de France and the Vuelta Espana.

The cyclocross version of the Zipp 303 is snatching up multiple victories each weekend.  The Cannondale/ team of Tim Johnson, Jeremy Powers, and Jamey Driscoll have won 16 UCI races aboard the new 303.  UCI World #1 Katie Compton has won every race this season on the Zipp 303 with the 88/188 hubset including two UCI World Cup races.

Vote the Zipp 303 the Best New Product – click here.

There are several other Zipp sponsored athletes and teams that are nominated in the reader’s poll.  Show your support for them and the Zipp products they ride.

Most improved rider: Bradley Wiggins, Heinrich Haussler, Tyler Farrar, Emma Pooley

Best male road rider: Andy Schleck, Fabian Cancellara, Heinrich Haussler

Best team: Cervelo TestTeam, Garmin-Slipstream, Team Saxo Bank

Best cyclo-cross male: Tim Johnson

Best cyclo-cross female: Katie Compton

Best team bike: Cervelo Test Team S3, Garmin-Slipstream Felt AR

Best rider of the year: Fabian Cancellera, Andy Schleck

Legend of cycling: Kristin Armstrong

Biggest moment of 2009: Cavendish and Haussler sprint at MSR

Best photo: Tyler Farrar, Frank Schleck, Fabian and Saxo Bank TTT, Ryder Hesjedal, Cavendish-Haussler sprint, Thor - TDF stage 6.

Photo: Tim De Waele