Zipp News

Back 1.21.2013

2013 Zipp road team roster

On a roll with the world’s best, most innovative teams

Zipp Speed Weaponry retains its spot at the pinnacle of professional cycling in 2013 with two UCI ProTeams – the Omega Pharma – Quick-Step Cycling Team and Team Saxo-Tinkoff – riding its wheels, bars, stems and seatposts. Omega Pharma – Quick-Step riders including Mark Cavendish, Tom Boonen, Tony Martin and others will count on Zipp as they seek another stellar season. Team Saxo- Tinkoff enters the year with a formidable lineup that incudes Alberto Contador, Michael Mørkøv and American pro road champion Timmy Duggan.

Zipp’s partnerships in 2013 also are highlighted by an increased commitment to women’s cycling and support for the first African team to become a UCI registered Pro Continental Team.

The Exergy TWENTY16 women’s team, which includes Olympic medalist Lauren Tamayo, remains with Zipp. New this year, Zipp is providing bars (road and aero), stems and seatposts to Team Specialized Lululemon, which includes American star Evelyn Stevens.

Team MTN-Qhubeka Powered by Samsung, based in South Africa, will ride Zipp wheels as it embarks on its historic campaign of European races. The team seeks to provide opportunities for African riders to compete at the highest levels of cycling while promoting Qhubeka, a South African non-profit organization that is a beneficiary of World Bicycle Relief, a non-profit group founded by SRAM.

Zipp provides teams with a diverse array of purpose-built wheels including the full Firecrest® lineup, from the 303 Firecrest in the Spring Classics to the Super-9 Carbon Clincher in time trials. Zipp’s Service Course CSL bar, its Service Course SL bars, stems and seatposts and its carbon SLSpeed post have become mainstays on the bikes of top professionals. Providing equipment to the world’s best cyclists, racing in the most grueling races, provides Zipp with crucial feedback for the research and development of the products you find in your favorite bicycle shop.

UCI ProTeams: Omega Pharma – Quick-Step Cycling Team (Belgium) – Zipp wheels, bars, stems and seatposts; SRAM drivetrain, Quarq Power.
Team Saxo-Tinkoff (Denmark) – Zipp wheels, bars, stems and seatposts; SRAM drivetrain.

UCI Women’s TeamsExergy Twenty16 – Zipp wheels, Zipp bars, stems and seatposts, Tangente tires; SRAM drivetrain. Team Specialized-Lululemon – Zipp bars, stems, seatposts and aerobars; SRAM drivetrain

Professional Continental Team: MTN-Qhubeka Powered by Samsung (South Africa) Zipp wheels, SRAM drivetrain.

Continental Team: Huon Salmon Genesys Wealth Advisors Pro Cycling (Australia) – Zipp wheels, bars, stems and seatposts; SRAM drivetrain.